You can now apply for a REAL ID in New York online

You can now apply for a REAL ID in New York online

The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) has made it easier for New Yorkers to complete their REAL ID and Enhanced ID applications. Now there is no need to visit the DMV office again. The advanced online pre-check system allows you to submit all documents electronically before visiting the DMV: application, identification, and residence documents.

A DMV representative will review the documents and provide feedback to the applicant. The pre-check tool will also be available to those applying for a non-driver’s license ID card or exchanging an out-of-state license.

“One time and it’s done. That’s what we’re trying to achieve,” said DMV Commissioner Mark Schroeder. – This process is extremely successful. Almost all of the applicants who used it, more than 97%, came to the DMV only once to complete the application and take a photo. At the DMV, we are reviewing and improving nearly every operation to make it faster and easier for customers to resolve their cases.”


New Yorkers are encouraged to apply for a REAL ID before the federal implementation deadline of May 7, 2025. As of this date, anyone over the age of 18 will need a REAL ID or a REAL ID-compliant document, such as an Enhanced ID or US passport, to fly within the United States.

On the subject: An immigrant for 4 years cannot obtain a REAL ID due to different spellings of her name on the green card and birth certificate

A REAL ID may also be required to enter some federal buildings. New Yorkers whose license or ID is up for renewal can obtain a REAL ID at no additional renewal fee. Those wishing to renew their credential before the renewal deadline will be required to pay an additional $12.50.

To apply online, you must create an account on or use an existing one.

REAL ID PreCheck is currently available in the following counties: Albany, Broome, Bronx, Chautauqua, Chemung, Clinton, Columbia, Dutchess, Erie, Franklin, Kings, Madison, Nassau, New York, Niagara, Oneida, Onondaga, Orange, Oswego , Queens, Richmond, Rockland, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, St. Lawrence, Suffolk, Tompkins, Wayne, and Westchester.

New Yorkers living in other counties can use the site to determine the required documents to bring to the DMV.

More news:

Leave the first comment

Table of contents